Mama, oh a tender heart you had there
To pick him from a million of goons
And me, you carried hidden for nine moons
The ninth you’ve had in his small hut
And oh, your skin! Marks cover as tortoise
All from his blows ever held at poise
Mama, were you trained for anti-miltia tacticians?
Look, too young to have visited town opticians!
Yet, season to season, you hold on reason.
Jabez on back, me on bosom you carry
Down the bosom, where I sit, someone kicks
And beautiful Taabu on feeble feet walks besides
Dawn to dusk tire for all these mouths
While he snores and grunts all day long
The six others go viral for vital wage
Schooling talk for them is as trying treason
Mama, it started fleetingly, and now no mending?
All night long I listen to silent whispers
Deep down your head you dream not tarry
Lest you age before your age to age
Mama, did I hear you sob and tear!
Casting and cursing why you lay your trust
Me too won’t sleep be left after flight
Remember taking me and them with you unending!<

#DadReadThis

Sent from Isinya in Kajiado, Kenya